Tag Archives: constellations

Lured by Light by Beth Barany (Book Review)


At Bijoux de L’Etoile, the high-end casino orbiting Earth, anything can happen.

It’s a quiet day for L’Étoile lead investigator, Janey McCallister, until a young woman runs screaming through the blackjack tables. She looks like a victim of abuse, but when her boyfriend turns up dead the next day, she becomes the prime suspect.

Determined to investigate every angle, Janey searches for clues and uncovers a world of high-priced escorts and human trafficking—a world just like the one that took the life of her best friend long ago.

When Orlando Valdez, inspector for Sol Unified Planets, shows up with a new suspect, Janey isn’t sure she can trust the mercurial man who stopped returning her phone calls. But as the threats escalate and she unravels a deeper conspiracy, Janey and her team will need all the help they can get. If they fail, it could be the end of everyone on L’Étoile.

***

Lured By Light, the second book in the Janey McCallister Mystery series, is perfect for fans of J.D. Robb’s Eve Dallas books and Killjoys, and CSI. It contains a slow-burn romance, enhanced humans, cool high-tech gadgets, a futuristic vision of the Earth, and a tough kick-ass heroine with secrets.

Kindle Purchase Link

Print Purchase Link

 

(review request submitted by the author for an honest critique) 

 

Lured By Light didn’t fail to keep me entertained. It had mystery, suspense, murder, misunderstandings, futuristic tech gadgets, more questions than answers, and left me counting down the days until Gone Green releases in 2021. 

As with Into the Black, Orlando Valdez worked his way back into one of Janey’s case and, I believe, her heart. Of course, I’m not entirely sure he ever left it. He’s charming but irritating at the same time. One day soon, I think these two will eventually get some quality time together. Maybe Orlando will wear a costume for fun, not just for his undercover assignments. *wink, wink*

As for the ending, Janey didn’t get everything she wanted. The loose ends mean more books, and I am 100% on board for this.

 

Heart Rating System:
1 (lowest) and 5 (highest) 
Score: ❤❤ 

Kindle Purchase Link

Print Purchase Link

 

The ‘Janey McCallister Mystery’ Series Reading Order

Into the Black: Kindle Purchase Link / Print Purchase Link

Lured By Light: Kindle Purchase Link / Print Purchase Link

Coming 2021 – Gone Green: Kindle Purchase Link

Red Running Deep: Date TBD

 

 

 

Award winning author, Beth Barany writes in several genres including young adult adventure fantasy, paranormal romance, and science fiction mysteries. Inspired by living abroad in France and Quebec, she loves creating magical tales of romance, mystery, and adventure that empower women and girls to be the heroes of their own lives.

For fun, Beth enjoys walking her neighborhood, gardening on her patio, and watching movies and traveling with her husband, author Ezra Barany. They live in Oakland, California with a piano and over 1,000 books.

Sign up here to be notified about once a month of book news and special events: http://bethb.net/itbnews.

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

The “SENTENCED TO HEAVEN” Series by S. S. Bazinet (2 Book Reviews)

An Inmate's Tale from the Other Side
Print Length: 79 pages

Alan’s been thrown out of hell. Now, no one will take him in except for Raphael, an angel who’s in charge of a part of heaven. Unfortunately for the unruly Alan, heaven is the last place he wants to be. To make matters worse, he’s going to have to stay there forever. He’s crushed when he learns that he’ll never be able to return to earth or anywhere else! But when Alan tries to buck heaven’s heavenly ways, he gets a lot more than he bargained for. For Alan, heaven turns out to be his worst nightmare.

Kindle Purchase Link

 

 

(review request submitted by the author for an honest critique) 

 

I can’t imagine anyone who would associate Heaven as a punishment, but Alan did. He was bored in Hell, but he’d rather be there than Heaven. Unfortunately, he did the impossible; he was thrown out of Hell due to the numerous complaints and the legendary riot. 

Wow! 

Alan’s time in Heaven wasn’t too pleasant for him. Smells, sights, sounds annoyed him. In his defense, who would want a thunderous alarm going off every time you lied to yourself?! He didn’t just lie once or twice. No, we are talking about over 10,000 times. Crazy!

Alan’s journey to self-enlightenment was frustrating and entertaining. He had his own channel, and everyone was turning in to watch the Alan show. He didn’t find that so amusing. It was like The Truman Show but for the afterlife.

 Love the plot, characters, theatrics… An Inmate’s Tale from the Other Side is an excellent read for a variety of ages. 

 

Heart Rating System:
1 (lowest) and 5 (highest) 
Score:   1/2

Kindle Purchase Link

 

 

 

A Vampire In Heaven
Print Length: 112 pages

In book two, Alan’s misadventures in heaven continue. No one understands how he’s managed it, but his heavenly body has changed. He has actual blood coursing through his heavenly vessel, and he’s become addicted to the stuff. When he’s labeled a vampire, everyone becomes concerned that his condition could spread. As a result, heaven is placed under quarantine. Its pearly gates are closed until the mystery is solved. Fortunately, Alan gets help from unexpected sources, including heaven’s canine community. A little dog named Nippy becomes a friend that supports Alan as he tries to find a solution to his woes.

Kindle Purchase Link

 

 

(review request submitted by the author for an honest critique) 

 

I’m going to list several items I loved about A Vampire in Heaven. I hope after reading my list, you’ll decide to purchase a kindle copy. 🙂

1.) adorable cover

2.) intriguing title and book summary

3.) several cute characters.  

4.) power of friendship

5.) message… It’s okay not to be perfect

I liked the setup (plot) for book three. It should be a wild ride! 

 

Heart Rating System:
1 (lowest) and 5 (highest) 
Score:   1/2

Kindle Purchase Link

 

 

To Buy both books  –> Click here <—

 

 

My fondest wish is that my stories entertain my readers and also provide them with moments of clarity and a deeper connection to themselves. My books include The Vampire Reclamation Project series, the Sentenced to Heaven series, as well as the YA thriller, My Brother’s Keeper, and a dystopian novel, Dying Takes It Out of You.

For the latest news and information, please visit:
S. S. Bazinet’s Website
Twitter Link

 

Leave a Comment

Filed under Uncategorized